Etablissements d'enseignement supérieur

Institutions of higher education

Strasbourg has a university of excellence with 4 active Nobel Prize laureates, and is especially well positioned in the medical technology fields. The University of Strasbourg is part of the trinational EUCOR - European campus network and of the LERU (League of European Research Universities).

Furthermore, there are exclusive programmes in Strasbourg, such as the Environmental Councelor Programme, prestigious higher education establishments, like the ENA, as well as schools at the cutting edge of architecture, art and engineering and a business school integrated into the University.

More than sixty higher education institutions are present in the local area of the Eurometropolis of Strasbourg, attracting more than 58,000 students every year. Below are the main higher education institutions in the area.


Formed by the merging in 2009 of three universities in Strasbourg, the University of Strasbourg has more than 48,000 students, 20% of whom are international students. Multidisciplinary, it offers innovative education opportunities and world-class research, and has won the Initiative of Excellence (IDEX) of the Investments for the Future programme.

The University of Strasbourg, which has four working Nobel Prize winners, is one of the French universities featured in the Shanghai ranking in which it is particularly distinguished in chemistry. Map of the campus.

The Business School of the University of Strasbourg

Centre universitaire d'enseignement du journalisme (CUEJ)



École Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Strasbourg (ENSAS) 

La Haute École des Arts du Rhin (HEAR)
Formed in January 2011 from the merging of the École Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Strasbourg (ESADS), l'École Supérieure d'Art de Mulhouse (le Quai) and of the higher music education sections of the Conservatory of Strasbourg/span>

L'École supérieure d'art dramatique du Théâtre National de Strasbourg (TNS) 

Les formations de l'Opéra National du Rhin

École Régionale des Avocats du Grand Est (ERAGE)
The Regional Law School of the Grand Est provides initial and continuing education for lawyers

Institut National des Études Territoriales (INET)
The National Institute for Territorial Studies trains the senior executives of major local authorities.

École Nationale d'Administration (ENA)
Since 1991, the École Nationale d'Administration, the flagship of the French grandes écoles founded in 1945, has been located in Strasbourg, where it was moved from Paris, thereby reinforcing the European and high-level academic nature of the city.

International Space University (ISU)
The ISU is an institution of higher education specialized in providing 
interdisciplinary educational programs to students and space professionals.

Alsace Tech Network
Alsace Tech represents a network of engineering schools, architecture schools and business schools in Alsace.

League of European Research Universities (LERU) 

University libraries and media libraries
The Eurometropolis of Strasbourg has a highly developed network of libraries and media libraries for all of your research, studying, etc. with special opening hours:


EUCOR – The European Campus
The University of Strasbourg is part of EUCOR, the European network of universities of the Upper Rhine, with the universities of Freiburg im Breisgau, Basel, Karlsruhe and Mulhouse-Colmar. The objective of EUCOR-The European Campus is to foster student mobility on a daily basis, and to facilitate and stimulate cross-border cooperation.

The international relations services of the University of Strasbourg, based at the Maison Universitaire Internationale (MUI) - the former Seegmuller tower, will help you with your international mobility plans, with information on partner universities in other countries, exchange programmes and aid to help you go away for a work placement, or to study

Twin city scholarships
The City of Strasbourg has a programme to help students go to its sister cities. Strasbourg is twinned with Fès (Morocco), Jacmel (Haiti), Vologda (Russia), Leicester (UK), Boston (USA), Ramat Gan (Israel), Stuttgart and Dresden (Germany).

European Voluntary Service (EVS)

International Volunteering